Category Archives: Lincolnshire

The Parts Of Lincolnshire.

The county of Lincolnshire subsumes three unique divisions termed “Parts”; namely, Lindsey, Kesteven and Holland. Lindsey is in the north of the county, Kesteven in the south-west and Holland, the south-east. The Parts were administered separately and each one received … Continue reading

Posted in Lincolnshire

A Flag For Fenland

A flag has been proposed for the region of Fenland, centred in Cambridgeshire but also covering adjacent territory in Lincolnshire and much smaller areas of Norfolk and Suffolk. The work of Cambridgeshire resident James Bowman, the design is intended to … Continue reading

Posted in Cambridgeshire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Suffolk

Lincolnshire Day

Lincolnshire Day is on the 1st October. It commemorates the Lincolnshire Uprising of 1536 when Roman Catholics expressed their dissent against the establishment of the Church of England by Henry VIII and the dissolution of the monasteries set in motion by … Continue reading

Posted in Lincolnshire

Lincolnshire Flag

Lincolnshire’s colourful flag was registered on October 24th, 2005. It was the winning entry in a competition to select a flag for the county. This had been sparked by a letter to a local magazine, County News, from two readers … Continue reading

Posted in Lincolnshire